Profound vs Semrush AI Toolkit: Price and Coverage
Profound is a dedicated answer-engine analytics platform, and Semrush One is an SEO suite with an AI visibility layer.
TL;DR: Profound vs Semrush is a choice between a published price and a sales quote: DerivateX reported the Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit at $99 a month per domain and Profound for brands as a free trial followed by custom Enterprise pricing. Semrush bundles AI tracking with an SEO suite, while reviewers describe Profound as having no classic SEO toolkit. DerivateX's view is that Semrush suits existing customers and Profound suits enterprise programs with a dedicated analyst. Prefer, which sells a managed alternative, says neither product provides off-page content and citation work as a done-for-you service.
Profound sells AI search analytics alone, while Semrush bundles it with SEO
Profound is a dedicated answer-engine analytics platform, and Semrush One is an SEO suite with an AI visibility layer. Fritz AI and DemandSage both describe Profound as lacking a classic SEO toolkit, so teams still need a separate SEO stack. Semrush AI Toolkit and AI Visibility Toolkit refer to the same product, which Semrush now sells under the latter name.
- AI visibility tracking
- the practice of running a fixed set of buyer prompts through answer engines on a schedule and recording which brands and sources appear.
| What you are buying | Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit | Semrush One | Profound for brands |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price | $99 a month per domain | $199 a month on Starter | Free trial, then custom Enterprise quote |
| Engines tracked | 5 | 5, or 9 on custom-priced Enterprise AIO | Up to 9 on Enterprise |
| Tracked prompts | 25 | 50 on Starter to 200 on Advanced | Not stated for Enterprise |
| Extra users | $99 each a month | $45 to $100 each a month, by tier | Unlimited seats on Enterprise |
Entry prices are as reported by DerivateX and DemandSage. Engine counts and Profound's seat terms come from ContentMonk's September 2026 comparison, and ContentMonk is a competing vendor. All prices are USD list prices, and INR billing and GST treatment are unconfirmed for both products.
Is Profound or Semrush cheaper for AI visibility?
A brand can price Semrush from public plans but needs a quote to price Profound, so no honest cheaper-or-dearer verdict exists. As of October 19, 2026, DerivateX reported Profound as a free 7-day trial followed by custom Enterprise pricing, with no public list price for brands. The same report put the Semrush toolkit at $99 a month per domain, billed annually, with 25 prompts.
The $99 and $399 Profound prices that still circulate are historical for brands. Third-party reports relayed by ContentMonk say Profound removed its $99 Starter and $399 Growth plans in mid-September 2026, around a $180M Series D at a $1.8B valuation. Pages still listing $99, such as DemandSage's undated 2026 review, describe an entry plan that was narrower in coverage.
What do agencies pay for Profound?
Agencies sit on a separate price sheet. As reported by ContentMonk, Trakkr puts Profound agencies at $99 a month plus $399 per client workspace, about $2,094 a month for five clients, and Profound's own page confirms only the credits per workspace. Prefer's September 2026 comparison also reports a $99 a month agency option plus add-ons, without pricing the add-ons.
What does Semrush cost once a team uses it?
The Semrush entry price is rarely the final bill. Sightivo, a competing vendor, reports $99 a month for each extra domain or user on the toolkit and about $60 a month per 50 extra prompts. Five users on the toolkit therefore cost $495 a month and still track 25 prompts.
Using the list prices Cognizo cites, a 5-person Pro+ team would pay $619 a month. That team pays $124 more than the toolkit team and gets 100 daily tracked prompts, four times the allowance, plus the SEO suite. Published comparisons disagree on two points that change this sum: whether the toolkit requires an existing Semrush plan, and the billing basis of the $199 tier. Confirm both on Semrush's pricing page.
Cheaper trackers also exist. Otterly.AI and Peec AI are two dedicated options with published prices. DerivateX found that neither Semrush nor Profound publishes enough detail for a cost-per-1,000-answers calculation, so the two cannot be compared on unit cost.
What each tool tracks, and how the data is collected
Both products measure presence inside answers rather than clicks, and click behaviour explains why. In a Pew Research Center study of 68,879 Google searches, published in July 2025, relayed by Omnibound and not specific to India, only 1% of users clicked a link within an AI Overview.
Which engines does each product cover?
Semrush's AI Visibility Toolkit lists Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity, although Cognizo notes that not every report covers all five. Some reviews describe narrower, mainly Google coverage, and they differ on where Perplexity and AI Mode appear, so check Semrush's help pages. As of Cognizo's October 2026 review, the toolkit did not list Copilot or Grok. Sightivo reports that Claude, Copilot and DeepSeek coverage sits in custom-priced Enterprise AIO.
DemandSage's list for Profound Enterprise names ChatGPT, Google AI Mode and AI Overviews, Gemini, Copilot, Perplexity, Grok, Meta AI, Claude and DeepSeek. Profound's trial covers fewer engines than Enterprise, and reports differ on which ones. An engine count does not show whether prompts or regions are equivalent, and neither product's India-market tracking is documented in these comparisons.
How does the data differ?
DemandSage reports that Semrush One's Prompt Research Report shows estimated AI volume, without describing how that estimate is produced. Profound's Conversation Explorer works from real conversations instead: Profound puts the dataset at 1.9 billion prompts, according to Sightivo, while a 2026 comparison on nicklafferty.com cites 1.5B+ conversations and other reviews describe it as far smaller. Those figures carry no dates, so the gap cannot be read as growth, and none is independently verified.
Answer detail differs too. In DemandSage's hands-on review, Semrush One offered limited, summarized answer-level views, while Profound showed full AI answers. DerivateX lists traffic attribution as outside the Semrush toolkit and lists Agent Analytics for Profound, with connections to Google Analytics, Cloudflare and Vercel.
Can you trust either dashboard?
Treat every number as a sample. Profound, which sells AI visibility software, reports 40% to 60% monthly citation drift across major platforms, but gives no method or date. A single reading is "a snapshot at best", which is why Strategi checks every buyer question daily and reads direction over weeks.
No published independent test shows whether Semrush or Profound measures AI visibility more accurately. Before paying either vendor, ask how many times each prompt runs per engine, and how often.
Is Semrush enough for AI visibility if you already pay for it?
Semrush is enough for baseline tracking if you hold a Semrush One plan and your buyers use the five listed surfaces. DemandSage reports that Semrush One keeps the same AI coverage across plans, so upgrading buys more prompts and not more engines. As of Cognizo's October 2026 review of Semrush's pricing page, Starter included 50 daily tracked prompts and Pro+ included 100.
Check your plan first, because you may hold less than you assume. Cognizo reports that the $139 SEO plan has no AI analysis features, and that the Content Toolkit is a separate add-on. Where AI reports are included, Semrush's documentation as summarised by Dageno lists six areas: Visibility Overview, Competitor Research, Prompt Research, Brand Performance, Prompt Tracking and AI Search Site Audit.
The gaps appear in engine coverage, attribution and implementation. The vendors arguing that Semrush falls short sell alternatives, and no independent head-to-head test exists, so judge those gaps against your own buyers.
What is the lowest Semrush tier that connects to Profound?
No published source states the minimum tier. Profound Agents is reported to have Semrush integration nodes, which are a data connection rather than an SEO toolkit. Cognizo reports that API access is only on Advanced and that MCP access is on all plans, so ask both vendors which one the connection uses.
Which one suits enterprise reporting?
Profound has the stronger enterprise paper trail, with conditions. Profound says it was named a Representative Vendor in the 2026 Gartner Market Guide for Answer Engine Visibility Tools. That report does not state the Guide's scope or its other named vendors, so read it as inclusion rather than a ranking.
ContentMonk reports Profound Enterprise with up to 9 answer engines, unlimited seats, SSO/SAML and SOC 2. The cost is usability as well as price: Fritz AI reports that multiple users find Profound's dashboard data-heavy and unintuitive without dedicated analyst support, and ContentMonk's summary of G2 reviews cites price, a learning curve and data overload. Neither gives review counts.
Semrush's enterprise route is less documented in public. API access is reported only on Advanced at $549 a month, and wider engine coverage sits in Enterprise AIO, for which no price is published.
Which team should buy which?
Teams already on Semrush One. Start with the AI reports you hold, because DemandSage lists AI visibility as included in all plans. Run them for several weeks before buying anything else. Add a second product only if a missing engine or attribution gap affects a real decision.
Enterprise programs with a dedicated analyst. Profound fits here, which matches DerivateX's view that it pays off only for such programs. Budget for a custom quote and keep a separate SEO stack. Ask for the prompt allowance and export limits in writing, since Sightivo's summary of public reviews raises export limits and cost escalation.
Small teams with no Semrush contract. Confirm first whether the toolkit can be bought without a Semrush plan. Sightivo reports complaints about the 25-prompt allowance, per-domain and per-user charges, and the lack of an add-on trial. A team that only needs low-cost tracking can price a dedicated tracker alongside it.
Agencies. Model cost per client before choosing. Five domains on the Semrush toolkit come to $495 a month, against about $2,094 for five Profound workspaces on Trakkr's figures, as reported by ContentMonk. The Semrush figure still carries a 25-prompt base per domain, so compare allowances as well as price.
What does neither Profound nor Semrush do?
Prefer, which sells a managed alternative, says neither product provides off-page content and citation work as a done-for-you service. Generative engine optimization (GEO) is the practice of making a brand's pages and third-party mentions easy for answer engines to find, trust and cite. A tracking tool can show where a brand is missing, but the question that matters is whether those insights lead to changes getting shipped.
Profound is no longer monitoring-only: as reported by ContentMonk, its agents draft content and optimize pages using credits. Dageno, a competing vendor, says Semrush supplies recommendations while implementation remains the team's responsibility. Someone still has to approve claims, fix technical issues and earn mentions on other sites.
That last job carries weight. Sightivo cites an undated Ahrefs study of 75,000 brands that found branded web mentions correlated roughly three times more strongly with AI visibility than backlinks, which is a correlation and not proof of cause. Ahrefs sells an AI visibility product, so weigh the finding accordingly.
Strategi does this work as a service. Starter at $499 a month covers content and hands over a fix list, Growth at $999 adds money pages and every technical fix, and Scale at $2,499 adds off-site work. Specialists approve every change, your approver signs off before anything goes live, and Strategi's Profound comparison sets the plans beside Profound.
Sources
HubSpot AEO vs Semrush AI Toolkit vs Profound (2026 Guide) (DerivateX, 2026-10-19)
5 Best Profound Alternatives for AI Analytics in 2026 [In-depth Review] (Trakkr, as reported by ContentMonk, 2026-09-30)
AI SEO Statistics (2026): 57+ Data Points on Zero-Click Search, Rankings, and Organic Traffic Decline (Semrush, 2025-09-01)
Semrush AI Toolkit Alternatives: Is Semrush One Enough for AI Visibility in 2026? (Semrush (pricing page, as reported by Cognizo), 2026-10-20)
Semrush One vs Profound (2026): I Tested & Compared Both (DemandSage, 2026-01-01)
Profound vs Semrush: Purpose-Built AEO vs. SEO Suite with AI Add-On (2026) (Profound, 2026-01-01)
Semrush vs Profound (2026): AI Search Tracking Compared (Prefer, 2026-09-01)
Frequently asked questions
- Is Semrush enough for AI visibility?
- Semrush is enough for baseline AI tracking when a team already holds a Semrush One plan and its buyers use the five listed surfaces. Semrush gets thinner on Copilot or Claude coverage, traffic attribution and implementation. No independent head-to-head test settles the question, and the verdicts against Semrush come from vendors selling alternatives.
- Does Profound still have a $99 plan?
- Profound no longer sells brands a $99 plan, according to third-party reports that say the $99 Starter and $399 Growth plans went in mid-September 2026. Brands now get a free trial and then a custom Enterprise quote. Trakkr, as reported by ContentMonk, puts a separate agency price at $99 a month plus $399 per client workspace.
- What is the lowest Semrush tier that can integrate with Profound?
- No published source states the lowest Semrush tier for a Profound connection. Cognizo reports that Semrush API access is only on Advanced and that MCP access is on all plans, so the answer depends on which connection Profound Agents uses. Ask Semrush and Profound to confirm the requirement before choosing a plan.
- What is the best Semrush alternative for AI visibility?
- The best Semrush alternative depends on the job, and no independent test names one. Profound fits enterprise programs with an analyst, in DerivateX's view. Otterly.AI and Peec AI are dedicated trackers with published prices, for teams wanting low-cost tracking without an SEO suite.
- Who are Profound AI competitors?
- Profound's competitors include Semrush, Otterly.AI, Peec AI, Ahrefs Brand Radar, Scrunch, AthenaHQ, Goodie and Searchable, all sold as AI visibility tools. These products track AI answers, so compare them on engines, prompts and per-domain or per-user charges before shortlisting one for your team.
- Does the Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit track Copilot or Claude?
- The Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit did not list Copilot as of Cognizo's October 2026 review. Sightivo reports that Semrush's Claude, Copilot and DeepSeek coverage sits in custom-priced Enterprise AIO instead. Cognizo and Sightivo both compete with Semrush, so confirm the current engine list on Semrush's own help pages before buying.
- Can I trust the numbers on an AI visibility dashboard?
- AI visibility dashboard numbers work as estimates to read for direction, not as exact measures. Profound itself reports 40% to 60% monthly citation drift, with no method given, and no published independent test compares Profound and Semrush accuracy. Track the same buyer questions daily and judge the trend over weeks rather than any single reading.
- Do AI mentions send traffic to a website?
- AI Overview mentions send few direct clicks: Pew Research Center found that only 1% of users clicked a link within an AI Overview, in a study not specific to India. Profound offers Agent Analytics for attribution, while DerivateX lists attribution as outside the Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit. Google Analytics can also show visits from AI assistants.
Turn the tracking into shipped fixes
Start with Strategi's free AI visibility check: a full check of your site, the 5 issues costing it most and the first 5 topics to publish, in about 30 minutes. If you would rather hand over the work than add another dashboard, Strategi's plans run at $499, $999 and $2,499 a month, month to month.